Keep Talking

Hi! My name is Simon and on the internet I often go by Hypertexthero.

Video games have been a part of my life since the early 1980s and I love exploring these ballets of motion, sound, light, and interesting decisions while chatting about art and play to brighten your day.

Give me a video game with things that fly like aeroplane flight simulators in open worlds with plenty of light and weather, and I’m happy. Current favorites: Microsoft Flight Simulator, Balsa Model Flight Simulator, the IL-2 Sturmovik series, DCS World, Dark Souls, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, and Elite.

I occasionally broadcast design, illustration, photography, music, and other creative work, though study of play and the video game artform is the main focus here.

My streaming channel is twitch.tv/hypertexthero and you can find highlights on Twitch and past streams on my YouTube channel. Stream status and go-live notifications are also published on Twitter.

Whether you are a regular viewer, a subscriber, or a “lurker”, you are welcome here and your presence is appreciated very much indeed! Thank you for stopping by!

Schedule

I stream most weekdays at around 2pm NYC Eastern Time (ET). Here is a webcal link to see my schedule using an application like Calendar or Outlook.

Here are the times at some other places around Earth:

  • Athens: 9pm
  • Auckland: 6am
  • Austin: 1pm
  • Bangkok: 1am
  • Beijing: 2am
  • Cape Town: 8pm
  • Chicago: 1pm
  • Easter Island: 12pm
  • Frankfurt: 8pm
  • Helsinki: 9pm
  • Honolulu: 8am
  • Howard City: 1pm
  • Kiev: 9pm
  • Lagos: 7pm
  • Lisboa: 7pm
  • London: 7pm
  • Moscow: 9pm
  • Mumbai: 11:30pm
  • Paris: 8pm
  • Passo Fundo: 3pm
  • Perth: 2am
  • Rio de Janeiro: 3pm
  • Rome: 8pm
  • Saigon: 1am
  • São Paulo: 3pm
  • San Fransisco: 11am
  • Seattle: 11am
  • Shanghai: 2am
  • Stockholm: 8pm
  • Sydney: 4am
  • Taipei: 2am
  • Thomas: 2pm
  • Tokyo: 3am
  • Tunis: 7pm
  • Vienna: 8pm
  • Wageningen: 8pm
  • Zurich: 8pm

Unscheduled streams do happen depending on the position of celestial bodies and my own.

To receive an email when I go live make sure the bell icon Solid bell. is solid on my Twitch page (hovering your mouse cursor on the bell tells you if notifications are on or off). I also yell about going live on Twitter.

↑ Back to top

Rules & Chat

Flying heart illustration.

If you choose to type in the stream chat I will be delighted, but please remember that kindness goes a very long way, and I or my human and computer assistants have Frost or Teleport spells to cast on trouble-makers.

No bigotry, racism, sexism, misogyny, or other aggressive behavior is tolerated, and please refrain from venting too much or “trauma dumping” if you are angry at the world, as these discussions are better in-person, off-stream.

If there is something bothering you in the stream or you have suggestions for improvement please let me know!

Chat Commands

You can type a command in my stream chat and get a response from the computer. Here are the available chat commands for my stream. For example, to see how long the current stream has been going type !uptime in the stream chat window and press Enter.

Additionally, when I am flying in Microsoft Flight Simulator, you can use the following, courtesy of SimToolkitPro:

  • !predict [-###] - Enter a landing rate prediction for my next landing. For example: !predict -100 to predict a -100fpm landing rate. I maintain a leaderboard that I update manually, with seasonal prizes, usually video games or simulator planes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place.
  • !metar [icao] - Shows current METAR weather report for the given ICAO airport code, if any.

↑ Back to top

Cheering with Bits

Pac Man.

You can cheer with bits to help support my stream and there are custom alerts for the following bit amounts:

  • 1
  • 2
  • 7
  • 10
  • 23
  • 42
  • 88
  • 100
  • 200
  • 314
  • 500
  • 1000
  • 1701
  • 2001
  • 5000
  • 10000

Cheers and other events like subscriptions and follows fill the cup on the left of the screen. ☕ When it is full a giveaway of a video game or digital airplane happens in the following stream.

Redeemable Points

A flying hot pink H symbol for my channel points.

Even though you may have sinned, there is no need for you to pray or confess to the gods or even priests.

All you need to do is to watch the Hypertexthero stream, which earns you points called Hyper Texts which you can then redeem to interact with the stream when I am broadcasting live.

To see what you can do with your points click on the little flying H icon on the bottom-left of the chat at twitch.tv/hypertexthero.

↑ Back to top

Subscriptions

Base Subscriber Badge.

Subscribing to my channel removes mid-stream ads (if subscribing without using Prime) and costs $4.99, $9.99 or $24.99 per month depending on the tier you choose. Go for the cheapest tier unless money is not an issue and you really, really want the Wow Shirley emote! and Love emote! emotes. The price can also be lower depending on where you live.

If you have Amazon Prime you can support my stream with a free channel subscription ($4.99 value) once per month by linking your Prime and Twitch accounts. Click on the Subscribe button on my channel and then on the Subscribe Free button to activate, but note that with Prime ads still appear.

Benefits of Subscribing

  • No mid-stream ad breaks (non-Prime subs)!
  • Custom badges and access to a growing number of hand-made emotes to visually share your emotions on the screen!
  • Being a HEROIC GRAND BOSS for helping me pay for my internet connection while doing something I enjoy that hopefully helps to bring some joy to the world!

↑ Back to top

Hardware Specs

The little machine I use to play and stream video games over to your computer screen is called Condensed Anthem Lazer Power: Frostblade NeWT. Click its name or the image here to read ongoing reviews of my streaming kit.

↑ Back to top

Games & Goals

My illustration for an Arma mod of a mod called Antistasi Amazons.

I love open world games, flight simulators and rogue-likes, and you can expect to see the following along with surprise visits from very old and brand new things.

Game-specific goals have been added below each video game, and these may change as I play:

  • Arma 3
    • Finish the Old Man campaign.
    • Win an Antistasi campaign (done!)
  • Assassin’s Creed Odyssey (& eventually Valhalla).
    • Rid the ancient Greek archipelago of all cult members.
    • Finish the main story line (done!).
    • Give a tour of Lemnos island.
  • Balsa Model Flight Simulator
    • Make a plane that flies (done!) and take off (done!) and land without damage.
    • Shoot down a belligerent balsa model aircraft with my own (done!).
    • Publish an airplane model and a scenario on my Steam Workshop.
  • COD Warzone
    • First place in a match alone.
    • First place in a match with friends.
  • Cyberpunk 2077
    • Finish the game.
  • DayZ
    • Survive for 30 days.
  • DCS
    • Take off, eliminate a target, and land on an online server.
    • Finish a dynamic campaign like DCS Liberation.
  • Death Stranding
    • Arrive in California.
    • Subdue aggressors by using boxes and climbing rope.
  • Fortnite
    • Numero uno in a match alone.
    • Numero uno in a match with friends.
  • Elite: Dangerous
    • Meet a friend in the void (done!).
    • Get a Guardian Frame Shift Drive booster (done!).
    • Achieve Elite status in Exploration, Combat and Trading (done!) roles.
    • Visit the center of the Milky Way.
    • Visit Colonia.
    • Find another Earth-like planet and be the first to map it (done!).
    • Unlock all engineers.
    • Step out of the ship.
    • Land in a world with a breathable atmosphere.
  • Generation Zero
    • Find out where the killer robots are coming from.
    • Stop the killer robots.
    • Get a friend to translate Swedish text in the game.
    • Play with a friend in coop mode.
  • Ghost Recon Breakpoint
    • Bring peace to Auroa.
  • Grand Theft Auto
    • Find all collectibles.
    • Get all weapons.
    • Stream all stunt jumps with a new character.
    • Help a friend own an aeroplane hangar.
    • Help a friend become a CEO (done!)
    • Help a friend start a motorcycle gang.
  • Horizon Zero Dawn
    • Shoot a mechanical dinosaur with a bow and arrow.
    • Finish the game.
  • IL-2 Sturmovik
    • Fly with a friend on an online server.
    • Help a friend earn their first air and ground victories on an online server.
    • Become an ace on an online server.
    • Finish a default single player career.
    • Finish a PWCG career in “iron man” mode.
  • Just Cause
    • Depose the dictator of Solis.
  • Jagged Alliance 2
    • Depose the dictator of Arulco.
  • Metal Gear Solid 5
    • Get a water pistol.
  • Microsoft Flight Simulator
    • Take off in a light aircraft from Rio de Janeiro and land on a remote airstrip near the border between Goiás and Bahia.
    • Take off from New York City and land on Cape Cod.
    • Fly low over the Tyhrrenean Sea.
    • Land in Lemnos.
    • Land on Everest (done!)
    • Fly around the world in a light airplane.
    • Complete a flight from engine on to engine off using Vatsim.
    • Complete all Steam achievements.
  • Noita
    • Finish the game.
    • Get a high score in a Daily Run.
  • No Man’s Sky
    • Find an Earth-like world with green fields and make a base.
    • Get or build a rover.
  • PUBG
    • 1st place in a match alone.
    • 1st place in a match with friends.
  • Red Dead Redemption 2
    • Find out what happens to the protagonist by finishing the game.
    • Reach the highest level in each online role.
  • Spelunky
    • Finish the game.
  • Star Citizen
    • Take off in a space ship.
    • Land on another planet.
    • Land on a moon.
    • Complete a mission.
    • Disable an aggressor spaceship.
    • Get a kill without using a spaceship.
    • Takeoff in my Aurora when version 1.0 of the game is released, possibly in this lifetime.
  • The Division 2
    • Find a bandana or red headband.
    • Finish the game’s next world tier.
    • Reach the top of the 100 floor tower.
  • War Thunder
    • Unlock the highest Tier in a nation.
    • Get own artwork in the game.
    • Fly a jet.
  • Zelda: Breath of The Wild
    • Defeat Calamity Ganon and save the kingdom of Hyrule.

Here is one of my first test streams playing a closed beta of Felipe “HarvesteR” Falanghe’s wonderful new game Balsa Model Flight Simulator. Felipe is the creator of Kerbal Space Program and I am as excited for Balsa as I am for MSFS 2020, which I have been streaming, too.

↑ Back to top

Quotations

Lol.

Chosen words from the stream chat that made me laugh out loud at one time or another, ordered by chatter responsible for the greatest number of LOLs:

Schippah

This is the tower, whatever man, taking a break, over.

What it lacks in stability, finesse, controllability and airtime it makes up for in a sturdy frame.

It’s the internet. You click links on links on links. Next thing it says you are dying. 2 minutes later you’re buying shoes.

It’s no bug. It’s Canada’s wall to keep Americans out.

I cut coffee, I do cocaine now.

Last time I flirted blinking they asked if I had something in my eye.

Us, the RAF, hereby award you the 500ton iron cross, please wear at all times.

Icebird is made of raw steel. He just sat there like a champ.

The content is doubtful, the flight is fail, the crashed abundant, the comments out of line, SHUT UP and take my bits!

Schippah


WildCraze

Fly with Hypertexthero and you’ll never fly with anybody else again =)

One of my favorite things is to use words with their real meaning and confuse people.

Coffee isn’t my cup of tea.

Top-shelf incompetence

Wildcraze


LTsmartass

I dunno what they stand for really, but I’ve decided he’s Charles Delongfort Longbottom.

Well halo there.

LTsmartass


BatGaz70

Be upstanding for the honourable Lord Hypertext of Hero esq, Earl of New York, Count of cool. Coming to you by Royal appointment.

BatGaz70


Ekeolnora

Mechanized Alpaca Neuronetwork.. aka man.

Ekeolnora


EliasSpeaks

Is that a portable eclipse?

EliasSpeaks


GalaxiaCat

What timing to fall in, “Sell used underwear”.

GalaxiaCat


Grantalf

What is a cannon but someone who refuses to use a sword.

—Grantalf


FoxyGingerPants

Hope he shaved. we need a good landing strip.

FoxyGingerPants


Futura_Light

Man, your character is built like a tank.

Futura_Light


Icebird4All

You know — I Follow Roads (IFR).

Icebird4All


KirerWT

Ma quelli non pagano la bolletta da trent’anni.

KirerWT


TimmyThumb

You can use all of them at once? Does that require using your feet? Feet for your keyboard, right hand for stick and left hand for controller? Nose for mouse?

TimmyThumb

↑ Back to top

Thank you

谢谢, Gracias, ευχαριστώ, Merci, धन्यवाद, Grazie, ありがとうございました, Obrigado, شكرا, Спасибо

I am delighted to have you here with me on this strange, beautiful voyage from home to such distances in real and digital worlds. Thank you for flying together with me!

An animated right wing made by my friend Andrea Sasso. Special Thanks An animated right wing made by my friend Andrea Sasso.

8BitofFun
Amber Ruth Paulen
Andrea Sasso
artwongt
BadMojo11
BatGaz70
Antonio Beto Polita
CMDR_Xiaoqin
EliasSpeaks
FactualGull
ForderLearnToFly
Futura_Light
GalaxiaCat
Hugh “Jim” Bailey · OBS Project
Icebird4All
iPreferPi
ItsDommit
JoeyBolo77
KirerWT
Mattrogg
M0RT75
Odila & Peter Griffee
RazWasabi
Schippah
SeedyL
TheFlyingFabio
TimmyThumb
WildCraze
Yitomic
ZeroToHeroALEK

…and all friends near and far.

Thank you to all of our followers ♥

Peace out, and keep talking.

—Simon